Installing multiple program instances

This forum has been archived and is no longer active.

The new forum is located at:

https://sourceforge.net/apps/phpbb/installjammer/

You may continue to view and search the topics in this forum, but no new posts can be created.

Installing multiple program instances

Postby markscs » Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:59 am

Hi
We have a stand alone program we want to install twice or more. I can do this by changing the install directory ie.
install instance 1, change the desktop shortcut to instance 1, then install instance 2 and change the desktop shortcut
to instance 2.

The issue comes when looking at the program menu, there is only one install. Can we get the program menu to show
instance 1 and instance 2 automatically?

Can we get the shorcut to show the same?

Also because there is only one program menu, the uninstall is not easily done with out going to the program files folders
directly.

Can we get all the folders etc to be the same as the install directorys we install to?

regards
Mark
markscs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:54 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby hsehdar » Fri Jul 08, 2011 1:18 am

Dear Mark,

This can be achieved by updating virtual text ProgramFolderName. In Install Actions group add action Set Virtual Text before action Program Shortcut. In added action set properties as shown in the attached image.

Thank you,
With regards,
Hsehdar
Attachments
ProgramFolderName.png
Change Program Folder Name
ProgramFolderName.png (43.91 KiB) Viewed 6816 times
hsehdar
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:16 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby markscs » Mon Jul 11, 2011 8:50 am

Hi
I tried that and get the following error:
Error in action ExecuteAction

Error in action InstallProgramFolderShortcut

can't create directory "C:/Users/Mark/AppData/Roaming/Microsoft/Windows/Start Menu/Programs/<%MyServiceDispName%>": no such file or directory
while executing
"file mkdir $dir"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::CreateDir" line 13)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::CreateDir $dir "
(procedure "::InstallJammer::actions::InstallWindowsShortcut" line 32)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::actions::InstallWindowsShortcut $obj"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::actions::InstallProgramFolderShortcut" line 15)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::actions::$component $this"
while executing
"$obj execute"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::ExecuteActions" line 69)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::ExecuteActions $action -parent $id -conditions $eval"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::actions::ExecuteAction" line 35)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::actions::$component $this"
Error in action ExecuteAction

Error in action InstallProgramFolderShortcut

can't create directory "C:/Users/Mark/AppData/Roaming/Microsoft/Windows/Start Menu/Programs/<%MyServiceDispName%>": no such file or directory
while executing
"file mkdir $dir"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::CreateDir" line 13)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::CreateDir $dir "
(procedure "::InstallJammer::actions::InstallWindowsShortcut" line 32)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::actions::InstallWindowsShortcut $obj"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::actions::InstallProgramFolderShortcut" line 15)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::actions::$component $this"
while executing
"$obj execute"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::ExecuteActions" line 69)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::ExecuteActions $action -parent $id -conditions $eval"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::actions::ExecuteAction" line 35)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::actions::$component $this"
while executing
"$obj execute"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::ExecuteActions" line 69)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::ExecuteActions $id -when $when"
(procedure "::InstallJammer::RaiseEventHandler" line 93)
invoked from within
"::InstallJammer::RaiseEventHandler .wizard"
(command bound to event)


Any ideas?

Is there a way to set the programfoldername to have the index of installed instances as a postfix?

regards
Mark
markscs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:54 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby hsehdar » Tue Jul 12, 2011 7:04 pm

Hi,

Use any other value instead of <%MyServiceDispName%>. For example if your company is Abc and product is Xyz with version 1.2 then value is Abc Xyz 1.2

The attached image is FYI only.

Also there are lot other ways you can use this. For example <%AppName%> can be one option.

Thank you,
With regards
hsehdar
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:16 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby markscs » Wed Jul 13, 2011 5:52 am

Hi
Sorry i still do not get it. I am new to installjammer so am not familiar with the
virtual names etc. Can you please specify exactly what to do?

If i enter in abc xyz 1.2 then surely the diretory will be the same again on both installs. I need
it to be the same as my install directory for instacne that i am changing manually.

program folder 1 = program folder\install 1
program folder 2 = program folder\install 2

same with shortcuts if possible
markscs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:54 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby hsehdar » Wed Jul 13, 2011 7:34 am

Hi,

All these are very easy to do. First and foremost kindly get to know basics from manuals. A virtual text is like name of a country and value of it is like the population of that country. For example virtual text China can have value 1000000. Where ever value 1000000 is needed there China can be used. Even the value of China can be changed as and when needed.

Technically virtual text is like a variable without data type and value is assigned to it. As in programming languages the value of the variable can be changed.

Hope this gives an idea of virtual text.

Say if installation directory needed is C:\Program Files\Abc Corporation\Xyz1.0 and C:\Program Files\Abc Corporation\Xyz2.0 then ensure that the virtual text InstallDir is with respective values.

Similarly if Program Folder Name needed is Start > All Programs > Abc Corporation\Xyz1.0 and Start > All Programs > Abc Corporation\Xyz1.0 then ensure that the virtual text ProgramFolderName is with respective values.

Kindly observe the screen shot which is with virtual text and the value assigned. In the value kindly change it to Xyx1.0 or Xyz2.0 and do not change Virtual Text.

Thank you,
With regards
hsehdar
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:16 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby markscs » Wed Jul 13, 2011 10:14 am

Hi
I can see this would work with having two installers, one for the first instance and one for the second.

Is there a way to find out how many instances of the same application have been already installed?
Then set the folder name & menu shortcut & desktop short cut as APPNAME_(No_on_instances + 1)
markscs
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 9:54 am

Re: Installing multiple program instances

Postby hsehdar » Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:46 am

Hi,

If application is installed more than once then internally InstallJammer (IJ) will keep a record of these installations using Install ID.

In this case there will be two install ID(s). In IJ to retrieve these Install ID(s) a script needs to be executed. Knowledge of using IJ API(s) and script is needed to achieve this.

Add action Execute Script with contents

Code: Select all
set appid <%ApplicationID%>

set ids [::InstallAPI::ReadInstallInfo -array a -applicationid $appid]

foreach id $ids {
    puts "InstallID = $id"
    return $id
}


In the above code within the foreach loop and before the line return $id use necessary logic to change ProgramFolderName.

Thank you,
With regards
hsehdar
 
Posts: 134
Joined: Sun Sep 26, 2010 7:16 am


Return to Help

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron